What Employers Need to Know About New Jersey’s Wage and Hour Laws
The New Jersey Wage and Hour law is a set of laws and regulations that govern the minimum wage, overtime pay, meal and rest breaks, pay statement requirements, record keeping, and other important aspects of the employment relationship in the State of New Jersey. The main purpose of the law is to ensure that employees receive fair and adequate compensation for the work they perform and to provide them with basic protections and benefits in the workplace.
Understanding New Jersey’s Wage and Hour Laws
Wage and hour issues are very complicated. Accordingly, it is important for employers to have trusted legal counsel to advise them on wage and hour issues since failure to comply with the applicable wage and hour laws may expose employers to liability.
New Jersey’s minimum wage law establishes the minimum hourly wage rate that employers must pay their employees. Most employees in the State of New Jersey have minimum wage protection. Effective January 1, 2023, the New Jersey minimum wage is $14.13 per hour for most workers.
Under New Jersey law, most employees were entitled to overtime pay if they worked more than 40 hours in a workweek. This is similar to the federal FLSA standard. However, there are certain exemptions for certain job categories, such as managerial, executive, administrative, professional, and certain skilled computer-related positions.
Consequences of Breaking Wage and Hour Laws in New Jersey
Violating New Jersey wage and hour laws can result in a range of consequences, including legal penalties, fines, and potential liabilities. These consequences can vary depending on the nature and severity of the violation. Here are some potential consequences for violating New Jersey wage and hour laws:
- Fines and Penalties – Employers found in violation of wage and hour laws may be subject to fines and penalties imposed by the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development. These fines can vary based on the specific violation and the number of affected employees.
- Back Wages – If an employer fails to properly pay employees the required minimum wage or overtime, they may be required to pay the affected employees the back wages they are owed. This could include the difference between the underpaid wages and the legally required wages.
- Liquidated Damages – Employers may be required to pay liquidated damages in addition to back wages.
- Legal Costs – Employers found to be in violation of wage and hour laws may be responsible for covering the legal costs of the affected employees, including attorney’s fees and court expenses.
Schedule a Consultation With a New Jersey Employment Attorney
CMS’s New Jersey Employment Attorneys are trusted counselors who help their clients navigate through complex wage and hour issues. If you are in need of assistance from an employment lawyer with wage and hour issues, please contact Curcio Mirzaian Sirot LLC.